2020 Tolman Award Winners

Carolina Helena Timoteo de Oliveira

Ph.D. Student, Stone Center for Latin American Studies

Tulane University

“Intersectionality, Resistance, and Empowerment in Contemporary Brazilian Hip Hop”

Carolina Helena Timoteo de Oliveira currently has two community-engaged research projects: First, she is conducting ethnographic research on social inequalities along lines of race, gender and sexuality in contemporary Brazilian hip-hop, as well as the ways in which hip-hop can transform formerly abandoned spaces. In addition, she is researching Vivencias, a Belo Horizonte-based program linked to Projeto Florescer, an effort to democratize psychological services to LGBT+ communities.

Iracema Souza Silva

PhD candidate in Sociology and researcher at LEDDE (Laboratory for the Studies of Difference, Inequality and Stratification)

Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro

“Estratificação horizontal por gênero e raça: um estudo de caso da Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro”

Iracema Silva’s paper is a contribution to a qualitative data-based research on Brazilian power discrepancies in cross-gender, race and class relations and how inequality impacts on issues of educational opportunity, in the aftermath of implementations of legal affirmative actions (that is, the socio-racial quota system) for the sake of expansion and diversification of students’ admission in public universities. Her paper specifically interrogates students’ gender and racial diversity as well as the problem of evasion at highly-selective institutions, in particular the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro.

Lua Gil da Cruz

PhD candidate, Department of Literary History and Theory

Universidade Estadual de Campinas (Unicamp)

“The Generation After: Contemporary Literature and Dictatorship”

Based on contemporary novels of Brazilian civil-military dictatorship (1964-85), mostly produced by so-called second-generation authors, the present paper interrogates the ethical as well as aesthetic challenges faced by such writers of violence and traumatic experience, whose narratives cannot be legitimized through the established means of memory production accreditation, given the void in these narratives of testimonial, confessional or archive-based content.

Marcela Heráclio Bezerra

Ph.D. student in Contemporary History

Universidade de Coimbra – UC

“The Pernambucan Canefields in the 1980s”

Marcela Heráclio Bezerra is currently researching the working conditions of rural women in the sugarcane-producing region of the Zona da Mata de Pernambuco in the 1980s. She is examining the question of how notions of women’s work in the domestic sphere are naturalized, as well as the other tasks, such as cutting cane, fertilizing the fields and tilling the land, that women in this region are saddled with on top of their domestic work.


The Jon M. Tolman Award is designed to assist students with their travel expenses. This Award is sponsored by BRASA and is intended for students who will present at BRASA XV Congress. Each winner will receive an award of $500 and the waiver of the registration fees for the congress.

The committee will provide 4 awards. Applicants are required to be BRASA members at the time of submission. Applications should include the following items:

  • Cover page (download here)
  • Abstract of paper being presented at BRASA XV
  • A short description of no more than 2 single-spaced pages of how the paper fits into the applicant’s thesis or dissertation
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • One recommendation, preferably from the applicant’s advisor (attached by the candidate in the same email with application)

We ask you to please submit all documents in a single email to brasa@brown.edu. If you prefer, the reference letter can be submitted separately, in this case please make sure to add the candidate name on the file name.

In the SUBJECT line, please write: Your full name + 2022 Tolman Award Application

Partial applications or applications submitted after the deadline will not be considered.

Deadline for application: February 1, 2022

Awards will be announced by February 28, 2022 and recipients will be recognized at the closing ceremony at BRASA XV.